Fillers, without the filler.
Where hyaluronic-acid fillers genuinely work, what they cost, how long they really last — and the risks the consult skips.
4:5 · to be supplied
The case in five lines
If you read nothing else
- 1. HA fillers work by physically filling space — results are immediate, and the pivotal trials behind FDA approvals show effects lasting 6 months (folds, hands) to 2 years (cheeks).
- 2. MRI studies have upended the "it dissolves in a year" story: filler was still visible 2–15 years after injection in every imaged patient, often swollen to ~3× the injected volume.
- 3. HA is the only filler class with an antidote — hyaluronidase dissolves it — which is the strongest argument for choosing HA over biostimulators for a first treatment.
- 4. The serious risks concentrate by location: nose and glabella injections cause most filler blindness, and the tear trough is the delayed-complication champion. Injector skill is the variable you control.
- 5. Skin-quality injectables are a tier below: Profhilo's only blinded sham-controlled trial failed to beat saline, whatever the marketing says.
Explainer · 2 min
The basics
What HA fillers are and how they work
What HA fillers are and how they work
Hyaluronic acid is a water-binding sugar molecule your skin already makes. Filler manufacturers ferment it bacterially, then crosslink the chains (usually with BDDE) so the gel resists the enzymes that would clear natural HA within days. Different products differ in crosslinking chemistry and firmness — a cheek filler like Juvéderm Voluma is a firm, high-lift gel, while products for lips and fine lines are softer and more flexible.
Results are immediate because the effect is physical space-filling: the gel occupies volume the moment it is placed. What you see at day 1 includes some swelling; the settled result appears over ~2 weeks.
This is also why fillers and skin-tightening treatments answer different problems: filler replaces lost volume; it does not tighten loose skin or stimulate meaningful new collagen the way biostimulators and energy devices do.
How long filler really lasts — label vs MRI
How long filler really lasts — label vs MRI
The pivotal trials give honest visible-effect durations: roughly 6–12 months in the nasolabial folds, about a year in lips and chin, up to 2 years in the midface, ~6 months in hands.
But MRI research has upended the assumption that the filler is gone when the effect fades. A review of 33 patients with midface MRI found HA filler visible 2 to 15 years after injection in all 33, and a 3D-MRI study measured in-situ volumes averaging 2.8× the injected amount — the gel absorbs water and expands.
The practical consequence: conservative volumes, and skepticism toward reflexive "top-ups" on a fixed schedule. Old filler is often still there, quietly stacking under each new syringe.
Before you book
What fillers can and cannot fix
What fillers can and cannot fix
Facial aging has three mechanically different components, and filler addresses exactly one of them:
- Volume loss (deflating fat pads, receding bone) — filler's home ground: cheeks, temples, chin, jawline, lips, deep folds.
- Skin laxity (loose, inelastic skin) — filler cannot lift it; adding volume to a lax face can make it heavier. This is energy-device or surgery territory.
- Surface quality (fine lines, texture, pigment) — retinoids, resurfacing, and lasers outperform any injectable here.
The best filler outcomes come from treating a genuinely volume-deficient area conservatively — not from chasing every line on the face with gel.
Choosing an injector (and what it costs)
Choosing an injector (and what it costs)
The evidence-anchored checklist:
- A medical professional with prescribing access. Hyaluronidase — the rescue enzyme for a blocked vessel — is a prescription medicine, and the 84% rescue-success figure assumes it is injected within hours.
- Cannula or meticulous technique in high-risk zones. A large practitioner survey found vascular occlusion roughly 6× less likely with cannula than needle per syringe.
- Reputable CE/FDA-cleared brands, opened in front of you — grey-market product is a real phenomenon.
- Willingness to say no. The overfilled-face literature names practitioner enthusiasm as a driver.
Prices: reputable UK clinics charge roughly £150–£600 per 1 ml syringe (London toward the top); continental Western Europe clusters around €250–600/ml. Cheeks typically need 2+ syringes, lips one. Suspiciously cheap offers usually mean diluted product or non-medical injectors.
Regulation reality (2026): in England anyone can currently legally inject filler — a licensing scheme placing fillers in an "amber" tier under healthcare oversight was confirmed in 2025 but is not yet in force. Much of the EU already restricts injection to physicians or supervised medical staff.
The full breakdown
HA fillers — what the evidence says
Part 01
Where fillers work, by area
Inside a midface treatment
16:9 · to be supplied
Strong evidence Cheeks & midface
The best-evidenced area: pivotal-trial improvement in 86% at 6 months, still visible in 79% at 2 years.
Cheeks & midface
The best-evidenced area: pivotal-trial improvement in 86% at 6 months, still visible in 79% at 2 years.
The best-evidenced area: pivotal-trial improvement in 86% at 6 months, still visible in 79% at 2 years.
Midface volumization is where modern filler earned its reputation. In the Voluma pivotal RCT (235 treated vs 47 controls), 85.6% improved at least one point on a validated volume-deficit scale at 6 months, and 79% still rated themselves improved at 2 years — the longest supported duration of any filler area.
Restoring the cheek also softens what's below it: nasolabial folds and jowl shadows partially improve when midface support returns, which is why good injectors often start here rather than at the fold itself.
Typical treatment: 2–4 ml across both cheeks, occasionally with a touch-up. Bruising and swelling settle within days.
- Sessions
- 1 (2–4 ml)
- Downtime
- 2–5 days swelling
- Cost
- €500–1,200
4:5 · to be supplied
Strong evidence Lips & lip lines
Two large pivotal RCTs; over 60% still responders at 1 year. Expect more swelling than any other area.
Lips & lip lines
Two large pivotal RCTs; over 60% still responders at 1 year. Expect more swelling than any other area.
Two large pivotal RCTs; over 60% still responders at 1 year. Expect more swelling than any other area.
Lips have unusually good data because two modern products ran head-to-head pivotal programs: Volbella (225 adults, responder rate >60% at 12 months) and Restylane Kysse (~280 subjects, 48 weeks, similar fullness with ~20% less product). Perioral "smoker's lines" improved in about two-thirds of patients in the same trials.
The honest caveat: pooled safety data show swelling and lumps are significantly more frequent in lips than in the nasolabial folds — plan a social buffer of several days.
Typical treatment: up to 1 ml per session (both pivotal trials capped there). Natural results come from respecting lip proportions, not maximizing volume; "filler moustache" migration is largely a repeat-overfill phenomenon.
- Sessions
- 1 (≤1 ml)
- Downtime
- 3–7 days swelling
- Cost
- €250–600
4:5 · to be supplied
Strong evidence Nasolabial folds (smile lines)
The FDA proving ground — dozens of RCTs. Works well; often better addressed via the cheek above it.
Nasolabial folds (smile lines)
The FDA proving ground — dozens of RCTs. Works well; often better addressed via the cheek above it.
The FDA proving ground — dozens of RCTs. Works well; often better addressed via the cheek above it.
Every major filler earned its US approval in the nasolabial fold, so this area has the deepest RCT base in aesthetics — head-to-head trials, a 2024 network meta-analysis, and validated wrinkle scales. All modern HA products beat the old collagen comparators and are broadly interchangeable in trials.
Two practical notes: deep folds usually reflect midface deflation, so treating the cheek first often halves what the fold needs. And this is among the safer zones — but the nearby facial artery still demands a trained injector.
- Sessions
- 1 (0.5–1 ml/side)
- Downtime
- 1–3 days
- Cost
- €250–600
4:5 · to be supplied
Strong evidence Chin projection
A dedicated pivotal RCT (Voluma, 2020 FDA approval) with 1-year effect and mild, transient side effects.
Chin projection
A dedicated pivotal RCT (Voluma, 2020 FDA approval) with 1-year effect and mild, transient side effects.
A dedicated pivotal RCT (Voluma, 2020 FDA approval) with 1-year effect and mild, transient side effects.
Chin augmentation crossed from "off-label habit" to evidence-based in 2020, when Voluma won a dedicated FDA approval on a 221-patient randomized pivotal trial with 1-year follow-up; individual adverse events each ran under 5% and resolved within weeks.
A modest chin correction changes profile harmony more than most people expect — it's frequently paired with jawline work. Firm, high-lift gels are used here; results typically hold about a year.
- Sessions
- 1 (1–3 ml)
- Downtime
- 1–3 days
- Cost
- €400–900
4:5 · to be supplied
Moderate evidence Jawline definition
FDA-approved (Volux, 2022) on one randomized program — newer and less proven than chin or cheeks.
Jawline definition
FDA-approved (Volux, 2022) on one randomized program — newer and less proven than chin or cheeks.
FDA-approved (Volux, 2022) on one randomized program — newer and less proven than chin or cheeks.
Jawline filler became officially evidence-based in 2022 when Juvéderm Volux was approved for jawline definition on a randomized controlled study. One pivotal program and a shorter track record keep it a notch below chin and cheeks — and it cannot fix genuine jowling from skin laxity, only sharpen the bony line.
Volume needs are larger here (often 2–4 ml), which makes injector judgment about whether you're a good candidate more valuable than the syringe count.
- Sessions
- 1 (2–4 ml)
- Downtime
- 2–5 days
- Cost
- €600–1,200
4:5 · to be supplied
Moderate evidence Marionette lines & perioral area
Covered by randomized data mostly inside lip/lower-face programs; flexible gels are approved for "laugh lines".
Marionette lines & perioral area
Covered by randomized data mostly inside lip/lower-face programs; flexible gels are approved for "laugh lines".
Covered by randomized data mostly inside lip/lower-face programs; flexible gels are approved for "laugh lines".
Marionette lines (mouth-corner to chin) respond to flexible fillers designed for mobile areas — Restylane Refyne/Defyne carry FDA clearance for "laugh lines", and perioral rhytids improved in ~65% of patients in the Volbella pivotal trial. Dedicated marionette-only RCTs are scarce; most evidence sits inside multi-area lower-face programs.
Downturned mouth corners often need a combination approach (a little support at the corner, chin stabilization, sometimes botulinum toxin to the depressor muscle) rather than more gel in the line itself.
- Sessions
- 1 (1–2 ml)
- Downtime
- 1–3 days
- Cost
- €300–700
4:5 · to be supplied
Moderate evidence Tear troughs (under-eye hollows)
High satisfaction in pooled studies — and the highest routine-complication zone. Off-label everywhere; expert-only.
Tear troughs (under-eye hollows)
High satisfaction in pooled studies — and the highest routine-complication zone. Off-label everywhere; expert-only.
High satisfaction in pooled studies — and the highest routine-complication zone. Off-label everywhere; expert-only.
Efficacy first: a 2023 meta-analysis pooled tear-trough studies and found 91% overall satisfaction — but from small uncontrolled series. No pivotal RCT exists; the area is off-label for nearly every product.
Safety is what makes this area special, in the wrong way. A systematic review of delayed tear-trough complications found swelling (42% of delayed cases), nodules (25%), migration and discoloration appearing at a mean of 17 months after injection; the thin eyelid skin also shows the blue-grey Tyndall effect when gel sits too superficially, and long-term studies document late puffiness from persistent filler.
If you do it: small volumes of a soft, low-swelling gel, by an oculoplastic or highly experienced medical injector — and accept that "no" (or fat repositioning surgery) is sometimes the better answer for deep hollows.
- Best for
- Safety-first area: thin skin, Tyndall shine, late swelling — pick the most experienced medical injector you can find.
- Sessions
- 1 (0.5–1 ml)
- Downtime
- 3–7 days
- Cost
- €400–800
4:5 · to be supplied
Moderate evidence Backs of the hands
One randomized split-hand pivotal (Restylane Lyft): real correction for ~6 months, mild temporary side effects.
Backs of the hands
One randomized split-hand pivotal (Restylane Lyft): real correction for ~6 months, mild temporary side effects.
One randomized split-hand pivotal (Restylane Lyft): real correction for ~6 months, mild temporary side effects.
Hands age loudly — veins and tendons surface as the fat pad deflates. Restylane Lyft is FDA-approved for dorsal hands on a randomized, evaluator-blinded split-hand study of 89 patients: clinically meaningful volume correction to 6 months, with predominantly mild, temporary swelling and tenderness (including brief impaired hand function).
It pairs naturally with IPL or pigment lasers for sun spots — volume fixes the deflation, light fixes the discoloration.
- Sessions
- 1 (1–3 ml/hand)
- Downtime
- 2–7 days
- Cost
- €400–900
4:5 · to be supplied
Moderate evidence Non-surgical rhinoplasty ("liquid nose job")
Pooled satisfaction is high — and this is the single riskiest filler area for blindness and skin necrosis.
Non-surgical rhinoplasty ("liquid nose job")
Pooled satisfaction is high — and this is the single riskiest filler area for blindness and skin necrosis.
Pooled satisfaction is high — and this is the single riskiest filler area for blindness and skin necrosis.
A 2024 systematic review pooling 9,657 liquid-rhinoplasty patients reported 99.1% satisfaction — camouflaging a hump or lifting a tip with fractions of a millilitre genuinely works. The same pooled analysis is the reason to pause: serious vascular complications — blindness, skin necrosis, stroke — occurred in 0.27%, roughly 1 in 370, the worst serious-event profile of any filler area, and the nose is the top site (40.6%) in the world filler-blindness literature.
The nasal arteries connect directly toward the eye's blood supply, and previously operated noses are riskier still. If you choose it anyway: an expert medical injector, tiny volumes, cannula technique, never soon after a surgical rhinoplasty.
Caveat: satisfaction data come from uncontrolled case series; there is no pivotal RCT, and the use is off-label.
- Best for
- Risk-first decision: ~0.27% serious vascular events in pooled data and the top site in the blindness literature.
- Sessions
- 1 (0.2–0.6 ml)
- Downtime
- 1–3 days
- Cost
- €400–800
4:5 · to be supplied
Emerging evidence Neck & décolletage lines
Small open-label studies of dilute HA/skin boosters only — a registered RCT has not reported yet.
Neck & décolletage lines
Small open-label studies of dilute HA/skin boosters only — a registered RCT has not reported yet.
Small open-label studies of dilute HA/skin boosters only — a registered RCT has not reported yet.
Chest wrinkles respond modestly to dilute HA "skin booster" techniques: a 2025 open-label study (81 volunteers, 3 sessions) found significant hydration, elasticity, and wrinkle-depth improvements over 6 months with mild transient side effects. A randomized Skinboosters trial in the décolletage is registered but unreported — until it lands, this stays an "emerging" indication with real but small, uncontrolled support.
- Sessions
- 2–3
- Downtime
- 1–3 days
- Cost
- €300–600/session
4:5 · to be supplied
Part 02
Skin-quality injectables
Moderate evidence Skin boosters (Restylane Vital, microdroplet HA)
Randomized data show real hydration gains; elasticity changes are occasional. Industry-run, no sham control.
Skin boosters (Restylane Vital, microdroplet HA)
Randomized data show real hydration gains; elasticity changes are occasional. Industry-run, no sham control.
Randomized data show real hydration gains; elasticity changes are occasional. Industry-run, no sham control.
Skin boosters are dilute, lightly crosslinked HA injected in microdroplets across the face — hydration from within rather than volume. The best data: a randomized multicenter study comparing 2 vs 3 initial sessions found 75–84% judged aesthetically improved at 3 months, with measurably increased hydration; elasticity improvements were only "occasional", and the comparison was between dosing schedules, not against no treatment.
Expect better-hydrated, more radiant skin for some months — not fewer wrinkles. Claims of 15-month duration are marketing-grade.
- Sessions
- 2–3, then top-ups
- Downtime
- 1–3 days
- Cost
- €250–450/session
Moderate evidence Juvéderm Volite
A 2023 randomised, evaluator-blind trial against untreated controls: 58% cheek-smoothness responders versus 4.5%, holding six months; single-arm studies show the gains fading by month 6.
Juvéderm Volite
A 2023 randomised, evaluator-blind trial against untreated controls: 58% cheek-smoothness responders versus 4.5%, holding six months; single-arm studies show the gains fading by month 6.
A 2023 randomised, evaluator-blind trial against untreated controls: 58% cheek-smoothness responders versus 4.5%, holding six months; single-arm studies show the gains fading by month 6.
Volite (VYC-12) is Allergan's skin-quality injectable. Prospective single-arm studies show a 96% skin-roughness responder rate at month 1 that falls to 35% by month 6, with hydration gains persisting somewhat longer. The 2023 randomised, evaluator-blind, multicentre trial found 57.9% cheek-smoothness responders at month 1 against 4.5% in untreated controls, sustained through six months (Alexiades 2023) — the control was no treatment, not a sham injection. The skin boosters guide compares it with the rest of the shelf.
Read that decay curve before booking: this is a treatment you repeat twice a year to hold, or accept as a several-month effect.
- Sessions
- 1, repeat ~6-monthly
- Downtime
- 1–3 days
- Cost
- €300–500
Emerging evidence Profhilo ("bioremodelling")
The only blinded, saline-controlled trial found no advantage over placebo on its objective endpoint; hydration and glow are real and equal to a cheaper booster, "remodelling" is not shown.
Profhilo ("bioremodelling")
The only blinded, saline-controlled trial found no advantage over placebo on its objective endpoint; hydration and glow are real and equal to a cheaper booster, "remodelling" is not shown.
The only blinded, saline-controlled trial found no advantage over placebo on its objective endpoint; hydration and glow are real and equal to a cheaper booster, "remodelling" is not shown.
Profhilo is the most heavily marketed skin injectable in Europe, and the gap between marketing and evidence is the widest in this guide. Supporting studies are open-label and sponsor-linked — e.g. a 23-person neck study with manufacturer-employed authors reporting modest laxity-scale gains (and bruising in ~50%).
The decisive datapoint: the first randomized, triple-blind, saline-controlled split-face trial found dermal thickness increased on both the Profhilo and the placebo side — no significant advantage over saline on the objective endpoint, and over half of participants dissatisfied.
Plenty of people enjoy the post-treatment glow; the honest description is "temporary hydration with a strong placebo component", not "remodelled skin". A split-face comparison found it indistinguishable from Belotero Revive on every measured property (de Wit 2022); the skin boosters guide grades the whole category product by product.
- Sessions
- 2, a month apart
- Downtime
- 1–2 days (bumps)
- Cost
- €300–500/session
Part 03
Alternatives & the exit option
Moderate evidence Biostimulators instead (Sculptra, Radiesse)
RCTs show comparable-or-longer-lasting fold correction via new collagen — but no antidote if you dislike it.
Biostimulators instead (Sculptra, Radiesse)
RCTs show comparable-or-longer-lasting fold correction via new collagen — but no antidote if you dislike it.
RCTs show comparable-or-longer-lasting fold correction via new collagen — but no antidote if you dislike it.
Poly-L-lactic acid (Sculptra) and calcium hydroxylapatite (Radiesse) don't fill so much as provoke: the particles trigger your fibroblasts to build new collagen over months. The evidence is respectable — a 252-person double-blind RCT found PLLA durable versus HA for folds with effects toward 2 years, and a split-face biopsy study showed CaHA genuinely builds more new collagen and elastin than HA.
The trade-off is control: results build slowly, depend on your biology, and — decisively — cannot be dissolved. HA's hyaluronidase antidote does not work on biostimulators. Reasonable second act; risky first date.
- Sessions
- 2–3 over months
- Downtime
- 1–3 days
- Cost
- €400–700/session
Moderate evidence Reversal: hyaluronidase
HA's unique advantage — an enzyme reliably dissolves it, electively or as an emergency rescue.
Reversal: hyaluronidase
HA's unique advantage — an enzyme reliably dissolves it, electively or as an emergency rescue.
HA's unique advantage — an enzyme reliably dissolves it, electively or as an emergency rescue.
Hyaluronidase is the reason HA dominates the filler market: mistakes and regrets are correctable. Clinical reviews support reliable elective dissolution (firmly crosslinked gels may need repeat sessions at higher doses), and in vascular occlusion, prompt high-dose pulsed hyaluronidase restored flow in 84% of pooled HA cases — with delay beyond ~5 days predicting permanent damage.
Limits worth knowing: occasional allergy (test dosing in electives), old fibrotic nodules may resist, and for established vision loss the rescue rarely works. But as an exit option no other filler class offers, it is the strongest argument for HA first.
- Sessions
- 1–3
- Downtime
- 1–2 days
- Cost
- €150–400
Editor's choice
Our picks
Where the evidence, longevity, and safety margins line up best.
4:3 · to be supplied
Best evidence
Midface volumization
The pivotal-trial champion — visible for up to 2 years and it lifts the lower face with it.
View details4:3 · to be supplied
Best studied
Conservative lip refresh
≤1 ml with a flexible gel — two RCTs behind it and a year of effect.
View details4:3 · to be supplied
The exit
Hyaluronidase reversal
The reason to choose HA at all: mistakes and regrets are dissolvable.
View details4:3 · to be supplied
The alternative
Sculptra biostimulation
For diffuse volume loss when you want collagen, not gel — slower, longer, irreversible.
View detailsPart 04
Safety — the full picture
Common side effects — the real rates
Swelling ~41%, bruising ~11%, lumps ~9% in pooled trials — and much more frequent outside the smile folds.
Common side effects — the real rates
Swelling ~41%, bruising ~11%, lumps ~9% in pooled trials — and much more frequent outside the smile folds.
A meta-analysis of 19 controlled trials gives honest denominators: swelling 40.7%, bruising 10.8%, pain 9.5%, lumps 9.4%, redness 4.5% — nearly all mild and settling within days. Location matters enormously: swelling was 17% in nasolabial folds versus 73% in other sites (lips, midface, perioral), lumps 3% versus 32%.
Plan accordingly: no filler in the fortnight before a major event, and expect lips to look "done" for several days before they look natural.
Vascular occlusion and blindness
Rare (~1 per 6,400 needle syringes) but the emergency that defines injector choice. Blindness is rarer still and mostly permanent.
Vascular occlusion and blindness
Rare (~1 per 6,400 needle syringes) but the emergency that defines injector choice. Blindness is rarer still and mostly permanent.
If filler enters an artery it can block blood supply to skin — or, via connections around the nose and brow, to the eye. Best available numbers: about 1 occlusion per 6,410 needle syringes, and 1 per 40,882 by cannula (a 1.7-million-syringe practitioner survey). Treated promptly with hyaluronidase, 84% of HA occlusions recover; delays beyond days predict permanent damage.
Blindness is the catastrophic version: 511 published cases worldwide, concentrated in nose (40.6%), forehead (27.7%), and glabella (19.0%) injections. Only 6% fully recovered vision. Against tens of millions of yearly treatments it is very rare — but largely irreversible, which is why high-risk-zone injections belong with experienced medical injectors who keep hyaluronidase within arm's reach.
Warning signs after any injection: blanching skin, mottled discoloration, severe pain out of proportion, vision changes — this is an emergency measured in hours, not days.
Delayed nodules and immune flares
In 0.02–4% of patients, tender lumps can appear weeks to months later — sometimes triggered by illness, dental work, or vaccines.
Delayed nodules and immune flares
In 0.02–4% of patients, tender lumps can appear weeks to months later — sometimes triggered by illness, dental work, or vaccines.
Weeks to months after an uneventful treatment, some patients develop tender swelling or firm nodules at old filler sites. Reported rates for these delayed inflammatory reactions run 0.02–4.25%. Recognized triggers include flu-like illness, dental procedures, and vaccination — with documented flares after COVID-19 vaccines.
The good news: most resolve with time, steroids, antibiotics, and/or hyaluronidase. The practical note: tell any clinician who sees a facial swelling that you have filler, even from years ago — it is often still there.
Migration and the overfilled face
Filler can drift (lips especially), and repeated top-ups on persistent product stack into distortion — now a named syndrome.
Migration and the overfilled face
Filler can drift (lips especially), and repeated top-ups on persistent product stack into distortion — now a named syndrome.
Migration — gel drifting from where it was placed — is documented across dozens of reports, most visibly the "filler moustache" above overfilled lips; frequency is unknown, but repeat treatment and mobile areas drive it.
Facial Overfilled Syndrome is the compounding version: because filler persists for years, routine top-ups stack volume until faces distort — puffed cheeks that rise oddly on smiling, blurred definition, "pillow face". It is now formally described in the literature, with classification and management reviews recommending ultrasound-guided dissolution.
Prevention is boring and effective: conservative volumes, long intervals, before-photos at every visit, and an injector who tracks cumulative dose rather than selling a subscription.
Part 05
Frequently asked questions
Will my skin sag when the filler wears off?
No
Will my skin sag when the filler wears off?
No
In the 2-year Voluma trial, untreated controls simply stayed at baseline while treated faces gradually returned toward (not below) their starting point. MRI studies show the material fades slowly rather than leaving a stretched void. The documented long-term cosmetic risk runs the other way — cumulative overfill.
Does filler fully dissolve on its own?
Not fully
Does filler fully dissolve on its own?
Not fully
MRI found filler in all 33 imaged midfaces 2–15 years after injection, at volumes averaging 2.8× the injected amount thanks to water absorption. That's not dangerous in itself, but it argues for restraint with top-ups and for mentioning old filler before any facial imaging, surgery, or new injectable plan.
Can filler be undone if I hate it?
Yes
Can filler be undone if I hate it?
Yes
HA is the only filler class with an antidote. Elective dissolution works reliably (firmly crosslinked products may need repeat dosing), with occasional allergy the main caveat. This is precisely why a first filler experience should be HA rather than a biostimulator — you keep the exit.
Can I get filler while pregnant or breastfeeding?
Defer it
Can I get filler while pregnant or breastfeeding?
Defer it
There is no evidence of harm — because there is no evidence at all: pivotal programs excluded pregnant and breastfeeding women, so manufacturers and injectors uniformly advise waiting. A purely elective procedure with zero safety data is an easy defer.
Can a vaccine or infection make old filler flare up?
It happens
Can a vaccine or infection make old filler flare up?
It happens
Delayed inflammatory nodules (0.02–4% of patients overall) can be triggered by immune activation — flu-like illness, dental procedures, and vaccination, including documented COVID-19-vaccine flares. They look alarming and are very treatable: time, steroids, antibiotics, or hyaluronidase. Tell the treating clinician about any filler history.
Who pays if something goes wrong?
Emergencies only
Who pays if something goes wrong?
Emergencies only
Across Europe, emergency care for a complication (vascular occlusion, infection) is covered as medical necessity, but dissolving or revising filler for aesthetic dissatisfaction is self-pay. Non-medical injectors may carry no indemnity insurance at all — one driver of the UK's incoming licensing scheme. Ask about complication cover before you book, not after.
Interactive
Match a treatment to your concern
Open your main concern to see where the evidence points — each link jumps to the graded section.
Deep smile lines
Flattened cheeks / tired midface
Thin or fading lips
Under-eye hollows
Weak chin or soft jawline
Crepey, dull, dehydrated skin
A bump or droop on my nose
The product landscape
Brand families compared
All four majors are effective and broadly interchangeable in trials — the differences are texture, longevity, and dissolvability.
Juvéderm (Allergan)
Vycross line (Voluma, Volux, Volbella) — most-trialled family; slightly higher swelling rates in the network meta-analysis, slowest to dissolve.
Known for: Cheeks, chin, jawline, lips
Restylane (Galderma)
NASHA + flexible OBT gels (Lyft, Kysse, Defyne) — first HA ever approved; Kysse matched Volbella with ~20% less product; dissolves fastest.
Known for: Lips, folds, the only HA approved for hands
Belotero (Merz)
Cohesive matrix gels that tolerate superficial placement with low Tyndall risk — a frequent choice for delicate, thin-skin areas.
Known for: Fine lines, superficial planes
Teosyal RHA (Teoxane)
"Resilient HA" engineered for movement — two US pivotal trials (434 subjects) in dynamic wrinkles; near-identical results needle vs cannula.
Known for: Mobile areas: perioral, marionette
References & further reading
All claims cite peer-reviewed studies, pivotal-trial reports, or regulatory sources, linked inline within each section. Primary sources: PubMed/PMC, FDA pivotal summaries, Dermatologic Surgery, Aesthetic Surgery Journal, UK parliamentary briefings.
Educational content, not medical advice. Filler is a medical procedure — consult a qualified clinician, disclose your full medical history, and defer treatment during pregnancy or breastfeeding.